Drunk on a Plane..

“I bet the fella on the aisle thought I was crazy cause I taped your picture to the seatback right beside me. Now I’ve got empty mini bottles fillin’ both our trays. I’m getting drunk on a plane” – Dierks Bentley

nashville-299459

My first solo trip kicks off on 5th June when I head to Music City – aka Nashville!

I’m heading over there for CMA Fest 2017 and to say I’m excited is an understatement. I’m fairly sure this is literally all I’ve talked to any of my friends about since I booked my flights in November.

But ‘Flight Anxiety’ is real.

We’ve all seen that episode of The Simpsons where Marge freaks out on the plane. Literally me.

From the second I booked my flights I’ve had major anxiety about the whole long-haul flight situation (I hate flying, even small distances. This will be my first long-haul flight). Current worries:

  • What if I miss my flight?
  • When do I sleep on the plane?
  • What if I can’t sleep on the plane?
  • What if my bags get lost?
  • How do I check in to my flight?
  • What if I do it wrong?
  • How will I know where to go for my connecting flights in Dallas?
  • What if I get lost at the airport?
  • How do I go through customs?
  • I hope I don’t have to sit next to a sick person for 16 hours
  • What if my travel sim doesn’t work and I have no phone/internet?

Basically I’m just confused about the entire process of checking in and making sure my bags end up in the right place, both when boarding my initial flight and my connecting flight. I’ve never done it before.

I think its worse because I’m going alone & won’t have anyone I know to lean on.

Have to keep telling myself I’m going to an English speaking country so it’s not like I won’t be able to ask questions if I get stuck.

Hopefully by the time June 5th rolls around my worries will be behind me. We’ll see, I guess.

Does anyone else get major anxiety about this kind of stuff? Is this normal?

Bel x

Leave a Reply

